Montréal Wood Convention and Women of Lumber & Forestry Team Up!

In an initiative to support women in the wood industry and promote gender equality, the Montréal Wood Convention (MWC) is proud to announce a partnership with Women Of Lumber & Forestry (WOLF) starting in 2024.

The partnership will see WOLF and MWC support each other in efforts to make the lumber industry a welcoming place for women and promote their events.

WOLF was founded in 2018 by Kaitlyn and Lauren Chimko of Dakeryn Industries. Their focus is hosting female-oriented events and networking opportunities to connect and uplift women in the industry. “The MWC is one of the most important lumber events in North America and we are excited to bring women together at the show and expand our growing community.”

For Sven Gustavsson, Director of the Montréal Wood Convention, it’s only natural to support Women Of Lumber & Forestry in their effort to connect and grow the great workforce that are women in the wood industry. “WOLF is an organic force in the industry and an example to follow for the years to come. It was only natural for us to partner with WOLF and help them grow. They will also help us adapt our event for women in the industry so that everyone can feel welcome at the MWC. A few members of the MWC organizing committee, especially Julie Gravel (GreenFirst), Rob Hruby (Weston), and Nadine Denault (Interfor) have all been instrumental in the establishment of this new partnership.”

Kaitlyn and Lauren from WOLF are looking forward to the MWC 2024 and are kicking it off with a Women’s Networking Luncheon on Tuesday, April 9th at noon at Bar George, sponsored by Dakeryn and Weston. There is limited capacity so please secure your ticket as soon as you can by registering HERE.

If you are still not registered for the Montréal Wood Convention 2024, you can also do it by clicking on Register to Attend.

See you in Montréal!

Media Contacts:

Alex Fortin – Communications Advisor

Montréal Wood Convention

afortin@quebecwoodexport.com

418 290-8993

Lauren Chimko – Co-Founder

Women of Lumber and Forestry

Lauren_Chimko@dakeryn.com

604 290-8780

Breakfast Conference featuring David Usher: Igniting Innovation in the Age of AI

Get ready to kickstart your day with a burst of creativity at the Montréal Wood Convention 2024's Breakfast Conference session! We are thrilled to announce that the highly acclaimed David Usher will be taking the stage on Thursday, April 11th, at 7:30 a.m. to deliver a captivating talk on "Igniting Innovation: Creative Thinking in the Age of AI." David Usher montera sur scène le jeudi 11 avril, à 7 h 30, pour donner une conférence captivante sur le thème « La pensée créative à l’ère de l’IA ». 

David Usher brings a unique perspective as the lead singer of Moist, a multi-platinum, four-time Juno award-winning musician, bestselling author, and the visionary founder of the artificial intelligence creative studio, Reimagine AI. During this session, David Usher will delve into the intersection of creativity and artificial intelligence.  

Mark your calendars for Thursday, April 11th, and be sure to arrive early for a seat at this not-to-be-missed Breakfast Conference. Ignite your innovation journey with David Usher and start your day on a creative high! 

Michele Romanow is our Keynote Speaker!

We're thrilled to unveil Michele Romanow as our esteemed Keynote Speaker for the Luncheon on Wednesday, April 10th, at the Montréal Wood Convention 2024!

Michele Romanow is not your average entrepreneur – she's a tech titan, a dragon, and an influential figure in the business world. As a serial entrepreneur, Michele has successfully launched six companies before celebrating her 35th birthday, showcasing her exceptional talent and determination.

Known as a "Dragon" on CBC's hit show, Dragons' Den, Michele is the Co-Founder and Executive Chair at Clearco Canada, the world's largest e-commerce investor. Clearco has invested over $5 billion into 10,000 entrepreneurs across 13 countries, significantly impacting the global business landscape.

Again, please mark your calendar for Wednesday, April 10th, as Michele Romanow will share her insights and experiences during this exclusive luncheon. This is your chance to glean inspiration from one of Canada's most influential business leaders.

Secure your spot for the Montréal Wood Convention 2024 now by clicking here.

A Unique CEO Panel

As the Montréal Wood Convention 2024 approaches, we are thrilled to announce a highlight of this year's event – the CEO Panel featuring industry leaders. This dynamic panel is set to take place on April 11th. It promises to be a pivotal moment for anyone involved or interested in the softwood market trends and the broader wood industry challenges.

Again, this year, the panel is composed of insightful CEOs who are thrilled to share their knowledge with all participants: Amar S.Doman, Chairman & CEO at Doman Building Materials Group Ltd., L.T. Gibson, Chairman & CEO at US LBM, and Ian Fillinger, President & CEO at Interfor. Steve Rhone, President & CEO at Weston Forest, will act as a moderator on this impressive panel and have the responsibility to get the most out of the panelists’ answers!

Attendees can anticipate a deep dive into market dynamics, emerging opportunities, and challenges shaping the industry's future. This is a rare opportunity to learn firsthand from leaders at the forefront of innovation and change.

Secure your spot at the Montréal Wood Convention 2024 and join us for this enlightening CEO Panel.

Register by clicking here.

We look forward to seeing you there.

Benjamin Tal is Back!

The Montréal Wood Convention 2024 heard you loud and clear. The Industry Seminar on Economy and Markets was a big success due to the presence of great speakers and we wanted to give our participants what they asked for!

As such, Mr. Benjamin Tal, Managing Director and Deputy Chief Economist at CIBC Capital Markets Inc. will be back at the Convention’s Industry Seminar on Economy and Markets with a new and updated “Economic Outlook - Turning the Corner?”.

His vast experience and knowledge of various economic topics enable him to give a clear picture of what to expect. Mr. Tal will also be available to answer your questions at this session.

Are you interested in attending Mr. Tal’s conference? Register now for the full event on our Website.

The Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montréal has a room for you! 

Also, the MWC 2024 is coming fast and this year again we teamed up with the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in Montréal to offer you the best hospitality in town.

With a special room rate of 277$ CAD plus taxes per night for the event participants, The Queen Elizabeth offers an exhaustive list of services to make your stay hassle-free.

As the venue of the convention, it is your best choice to make your participation at the MWC 2024 as effective as possible. Even better, the hotel is in downtown Montréal close to all the attractions the city has to offer.

Click here. to book a room! 

Registrations are Open! 

Registrations for the Montréal Wood Convention 2024 are officially open!

We are eager to see you next spring in Montréal at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel from April 9 to 11, 2024.

The MWC 2024 will offer you a trade show, industry-related presentations, and networking opportunities. With the return of our official mobile app, you can reach other participants to organize meetings, watch conferences live, ask questions, and check out the profiles of exhibitors.

Keep reading below to find out which registration category you should choose.

Exhibitors

Il existe deux gammes de prix pour les exposants : les membres et les non-membresThere are two pricing ranges for the exhibitors. Members and Non-Members. They both come with two Convention passes. Only regular members (wood producers) of one of the four organizing associations are entitled to the member price. The non-member exhibitor rate applies to associate members.

Note that lumber producers with an annual production of 25 million board feet or more are required to have a booth at the Trade Show. In other words, these producers cannot participate in the event without having a booth.

Click on the link to complete your registration form: https://montrealwoodconvention.com/en/exposer/

Reminder: You can choose your booth space once the payment is completed. The link to access it will be available in the confirmation email.

Pay close attention to the plan since there are three different booth sizes: 6x8 booths are in blue, 8x8 booths are in gray and 8x10 booths are in green. The booth spaces in red are unavailable. All the booths are the same price, first come first serve.

If you have any questions about the exhibitor registration process, write to info@montrealwoodconvention.com.

Hurry up to get the best booth space! 

Participants

If you want to attend the MWC 2024, you have two options: attend in-person or virtually. If you intend to get a booth, please register as an exhibitor.

You will benefit from the “Early-Bird Registration” rate if you complete your registration before February 8, 2024.

Click on the link to complete your registration form: https://montrealwoodconvention.com/en/attend/

See you in Montréal!  

The Montréal Wood Convention 2024 Dates Are Set! 

The Organizing Committee is pleased to announce that the next Montréal Wood Convention will take place on April 9-11, 2024 at the Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth in Montréal. 

After a record-breaking year of participation in 2023, the MWC team is looking forward to seeing you again next year for an action-packed three-day event in the beautiful city of Montréal. 

As always, the MWC provides a rich program including the trade show, conferences on key topics, and tons of networking opportunities. The detailed program will be announced later this fall. 

The Montreal Wood Convention is the largest event in Canada for the wood products industry, with a typical attendance of around 1,000 delegates from North America and overseas. 

We hope to see you in Montréal next year! 

A Record Year for the Convention!

Montréal, Canada— The Montréal Wood Convention 2023, a premier event for the wood industry in North America, took place from April 18 to 20, 2023, at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel in Montréal. The convention attracted 1100 participants from around the world and featured 110 booths showcasing the latest trends, technologies, and products by the biggest companies in the industry. A record number of participants for the event.

In addition to the booths, the convention hosted a series of seminars, discussions, and panel sessions featuring leading industry experts. The keynote speaker Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, an NFL player for the New York Jets, was undoubtly the star of the event. He charmed the participants with his journey from professional football to medical school, and discussed the importance of leadership, perseverance, and adaptability.

In addition to the keynote speech and CEO-Panel, the convention featured a variety of other events and activities with networking opportunities and an industry seminar on the economy and markets.

According to Sven Gustavsson, the event director, the Montréal Wood Convention 2023 was a success that provided opportunity for the wood industry to come together and share ideas, knowledge, and innovations. “We are delighted that people enjoyed such a diverse range of seminars and discussions at this year’s convention,” said Gustavsson. “The presence of so many important players in the industry is another proof of the relevance and necessity of this annual meeting for the wood industry in North America and worldwide”.

The forest industry is a major contributor to the Canadian economy with a GDP contribution of nearly $20 billion (2012 chained dollars), representing 8% of Canada’s manufacturing sector. With exports of more than $46 billion in 2022, the sector has a strong positive trade balance (close to $30 billion). In terms of softwood lumber, Canada remains the world’s 2th largest producer and the 2th largest exporter. The forest industry provided 2021 more than 210,000 direct jobs (foresters, scientists, engineers, computer specialists, technicians, and skilled workers) and is still a pillar of economic development for many municipalities from coast to coast.

“The Montréal Wood Convention reconfirms its role as the key Canadian hub for producers, wholesalers, and retailers of wood products. We are delighted with the record participation from the United States and Canada, as well as the significant presence from overseas markets,” explains Sylvain Labbé, President and CEO of the Quebec Wood Export Bureau (QWEB) and a member of the organizing committee.

The Montréal Wood Convention has continued to grow in popularity since its inception, despite a hiatus due to the global pandemic of COVID-19. Each year, the varied program and the quality of participating companies reflect the latest market trends and the many changes in the industry.

The event, which has its roots in the Canadian Lumbermen’s Association (CLA) Convention, first held in 1908, was revamped and restarted in 2013 by four industry associations in Eastern Canada, the Maritime Lumber Bureau (MLB), the Ontario Forest Industry Association (OFIA), the Québec Forest Industry Council (QFIC) and the Québec Wood Export Bureau (QWEB).

Prepare your MWC 2023! 

The Montréal Wood Convention 2023 is in exactly one week and we can't wait to welcome you! 

To ensure that your trip to the Convention goes smoothly, here is some relevant information for you:  

Have a good trip to Montréal! 

An Impressive Industry Panel

Every edition of the Montréal Wood Convention gives you insights on important topics for the year to come in the wood industry. This year, we’ve gathered an impressive team of CEOs for the Industry Panel that will give participants fresh information on major short and medium trends in the market.

André Beaulieu will be our moderator. A seasoned sales executive from the leading eastern Canadian producer J.D. Irving, André has been instrumental in establishing the company as a big supplier to the retail industry, especially home centers in the U.S. 

At Do It Best, Dan Starr has the finger on the pulse of the private repair and remodeling sector in the United States and Mexico. Are there any decks still left to be built or replaced in the Midwest in 2023?

As a part of the Hampton Group, Ted Ellis, CEO of Idaho Timber, experience spans from western operations and trade while still focusing on Idaho’s legacy operations in value-added wood products, servicing industrial customers and other sectors.

Finally, Taiga is a leading independent wholesale distributor of building materials in Canada and the United States, and the CEO, Russ Permann, covers a wide range of products from engineered lumber to cladding materials.

Want to see them live? Click on the button "Register to Attend" to register for the event. Your MWC 2023 registration grants you access to all the conferences.

See you in Montréal!

Le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois et Women Of Lumber & Forestry font équipe !

Dans le cadre d’une initiative visant à soutenir les femmes dans l’industrie du bois et à promouvoir l’égalité des sexes, le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois (MWC) est fier d’annoncer un partenariat avec Women Of Lumber & Forestry (WOLF) à partir de 2024.

Dans le cadre de ce partenariat, WOLF et MWC se soutiendront mutuellement dans leurs efforts visant à faire de l’industrie du bois un endroit accueillant pour les femmes et promouvoir leurs événements.

WOLF a été fondé en 2018 par Kaitlyn et Lauren Chimko de Dakeryn Industries. Leur objectif est d’organiser des événements axés sur les femmes et des opportunités de réseautage pour connecter et accentuer la présence des femmes dans l’industrie. « Le MWC est l’un des salons les plus importants du bois d’œuvre en Amérique du Nord et nous sommes ravis de trouver des moyens d’y rassembler les femmes et d’élargir notre communauté en pleine croissance. »

Pour Sven Gustavsson, directeur du Congrès de Montréal sur le bois, il est primordial de soutenir Women Of Lumber & Forestry dans ses efforts pour connecter et faire croître la formidable main-d’œuvre que sont les femmes dans l’industrie du bois. « WOLF est une force organique dans l’industrie et un exemple à suivre pour les années à venir. Il était tout à fait naturel pour nous de nous associer à WOLF et de favoriser leur développement. Ils nous aideront également à adapter notre événement aux femmes de l’industrie afin que tout le monde se sente le bienvenu au MWC. Quelques membres du comité organisateur du MWC, en particulier Julie Gravel (GreenFirst), Rob Hruby (Weston) et Nadine Denault (Interfor), ont joué un rôle déterminant dans l’établissement de ce nouveau partenariat. »

Kaitlyn et Lauren de WOLF attendent avec impatience le MWC 2024 et donneront le coup d’envoi avec un dîner de réseautage pour les femmes le mardi 9 avril à 12 h au Bar George, commandité par Dakeryn et Weston. Le nombre de places étant limité, nous vous invitons à réserver votre billet dès que possible en vous inscrivant ICI.

Si vous n’êtes pas encore inscrit au Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024, vous pouvez le faire en cliquant sur « Pour participer »

Au plaisir de vous voir à Montréal !

Personnes-ressources pour les médias :

Alex Fortin – conseiller aux communications

Montréal Wood Convention

afortin@quebecwoodexport.com

418 290-8993

Lauren Chimko – co-fondatrice

Women of Lumber and Forestry

Lauren_Chimko@dakeryn.com

604 290-8780

David Usher : L’innovation à l’ère de l’IA

Préparez-vous à démarrer votre journée par une explosion de créativité lors du petit-déjeuner-conférence du Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 ! Nous sommes ravis d’annoncer que le très acclamé David Usher montera sur scène le jeudi 11 avril, à 7 h 30, pour donner une conférence captivante sur le thème « La pensée créative à l’ère de l’IA ». 

David Usher apporte une perspective unique en tant que chanteur du groupe Moist, musicien multiplatine, quatre fois récompensé par un Juno, auteur de livres à succès et fondateur visionnaire du studio de création en intelligence artificielle, Reimagine AI. Au cours du petit-déjeuner-conférence, David Usher se penchera sur l’intersection de la créativité et de l’intelligence artificielle.  

Inscrivez à votre agenda le jeudi 11 avril et assurez-vous d’arriver tôt pour avoir une place à cette conférence à ne pas manquer. Mettez le feu à votre parcours d’innovation avec David Usher et commencez votre journée sur les chapeaux de roue de la créativité ! 

Michele Romanow est notre conférencière de marque !

Nous sommes ravis d’annoncer que Michele Romanow sera notre conférencière de marque pour le déjeuner du mercredi 10 avril au Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 !

Michele Romanow n’est pas une femme ordinaire — c’est une leader de la technologie, une « dragon » et une figure influente du monde des affaires. En tant qu’entrepreneure en série, Michele a lancé avec succès six entreprises avant de fêter son 35e anniversaire, ce qui témoigne de son talent et de sa détermination exceptionnels.

Connue comme « dragon » dans l’émission à succès de CBC, Dragons' Den, Michele est cofondatrice et présidente exécutive de Clearco Canada, le plus grand investisseur au monde dans le domaine du commerce électronique. Clearco a investi plus de 5 milliards de dollars dans 10 000 entrepreneurs dans 13 pays, ce qui a eu un impact significatif sur le paysage commercial mondial.

Une fois de plus, notez dans votre agenda le mercredi 10 avril, car Michele Romanow partagera ses idées et ses expériences au cours de ce déjeuner exclusif. C’est l’occasion pour vous inspirer auprès de l’une des chefs d’entreprise les plus influentes du Canada.

Réservez votre place pour le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 en cliquant ici.

Un Panel de PDG unique

À l’approche du Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024, nous sommes ravis d’annoncer les participants au panel de PDG mettant en vedette des chefs de file de l’industrie. Ce panel aura lieu le 11 avril et promet d’être une rencontre riche en informations pour toutes personnes impliquées ou intéressées par les tendances du marché des résineux et les défis de l’industrie du bois.

Cette année encore, le panel est composé de PDG expérimentés qui sont ravis de partager leurs connaissances transversales avec tous les participants : Amar S.Doman, président-directeur général de Doman Building Materials Group Ltd, L.T. Gibson, président-directeur général de US LBM et Ian Fillinger, président-directeur général d’Interfor. Steve Rhone, président-directeur général de Weston Forest, sera le modérateur de cette impressionnante table ronde et aura la responsabilité de soutirer les meilleures réponses des panélistes !

Les participants peuvent s’attendre à une exploration en profondeur de la dynamique du marché, les opportunités émergentes et les défis qui façonnent l’avenir de l’industrie. Il s’agit d’une occasion rare d’acquérir des connaissances de première main auprès de leaders à l’avant-garde de l’innovation et du changement.

Réservez votre place au Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 et rejoignez-nous pour ce panel de PDG !

Inscrivez-vous en cliquant ici.

Nous avons hâte de vous y voir.

Benjamin Tal est de retour !

Le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 vous a entendu haut et fort. Le Séminaire de l’industrie sur l’économie et les marchés a été un franc succès grâce à la présence d’excellents conférenciers et nous voulions donner à nos participants ce qu’ils réclamaient !

Ainsi, M. Benjamin Tal, directeur général et économiste en chef chez Marchés des capitaux CIBC inc., sera de retour au Séminaire sur l’économie et les marchés dans un nouveau segment « Paysage économique - Vers plus de stabilité ?» agrémenté des dernières nouvelles dans le secteur.

Sa longue expérience et ses connaissances sur divers sujets rattachés à l’économie lui permettront de faire la démonstration aux participants de la situation qui prévaut à ce moment. Il sera également disposé à répondre à toutes vos questions après sa prestation.

Vous souhaitez assister à la conférence de monsieur Tal ? Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant pour l’événement complet sur notre site Internet.

Le Reine Elizabeth de Montréal a une chambre pour vous ! 

Le MWC 2024 approche à grands pas et cette année encore, nous nous sommes associés au Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth pour vous offrir un accueil chaleureux dans la métropole.

Avec un tarif préférentiel à partir de 277 $ CA plus taxes, par nuit, pour les participants à l’événement, le Reine Elizabeth vous propose une liste exhaustive de services pour agrémenter votre séjour à Montréal.

En tant qu’hôte du Congrès, l’hôtel représente votre meilleur choix pour rendre vos déplacements au MWC 2024 aussi efficaces que possible. De plus, l’établissement est situé au centre-ville de Montréal, à proximité de toutes les attractions connues de la ville.

Cliquez ici pour réserver une chambre. 

Les inscriptions sont ouvertes ! 

Les inscriptions pour le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 sont officiellement ouvertes !

Nous sommes impatients de vous voir au printemps prochain à Montréal, à l’hôtel Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth, du 9 au 11 avril 2024.

Le MWC 2024 vous proposera un salon professionnel, des présentations liées à l’industrie et des opportunités de réseautage. Avec le retour de notre application mobile officielle, vous pourrez joindre d’autres participants pour organiser des rencontres, regarder les conférences en direct, poser des questions et consulter le profil des exposants.

Lisez ce qui suit pour apprendre quelle catégorie d’inscription vous devriez choisir.

Exposants

Il existe deux gammes de prix pour les exposants : les membres et les non-membres. Les deux catégories comprennent deux laissez-passer pour le Congrès. Seuls les membres réguliers (producteurs de bois) de l’une des quatre associations organisatrices ont droit au tarif membre. Les membres associés doivent payer le tarif exposant non-membre.

Notez que les producteurs de bois dont la production annuelle est égale ou supérieure à 25 millions de pieds-planches sont tenus de réserver un espace. En d’autres termes, ces producteurs ne peuvent pas participer au Congrès sans avoir de kiosque.

Cliquez sur le lien pour remplir votre formulaire d’inscription : https://montrealwoodconvention.com/exposer/

Rappel : vous choisissez vous-même votre emplacement sur le plan une fois le paiement complété. Le lien pour y accéder sera fourni dans le courriel de confirmation.

Veuillez porter une attention particulière au plan d’exposition qui offre trois grandeurs d'espace, comme lors de la dernière édition en présentiel : 6′ x 8′ en bleu, 8′ x 8′ en gris et 10′ x 8′ en vert. Les kiosques en rouge ne sont plus disponibles.

Si vous avez des questions sur le processus d’inscription des exposants, écrivez à info@montrealwoodconvention.com.

Hâtez-vous pour obtenir la meilleure place ! 

Participants

Si vous souhaitez uniquement assister au MWC 2024, deux options s’offrent à vous : en personne ou virtuellement. Si vous avez l’intention de tenir un kiosque, veuillez d’abord vous inscrire en tant qu’exposant.

Vous bénéficierez du tarif « Inscription hâtive » si vous complétez votre inscription avant le 8 février 2024.

Cliquez sur le lien pour remplir votre formulaire d’inscription : https://montrealwoodconvention.com/participer/

Au plaisir de vous voir à Montréal !  

Les dates du Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2024 sont connues ! 

Le Comité organisateur est heureux de vous annoncer que la prochaine édition du Congrès de Montréal sur le bois sera présentée du 9 au 11 avril 2024 au Fairmont, le Reine Elizabeth, à Montréal. 

Après une année record en termes de participation en 2023, l’équipe du MWC a déjà hâte de vous revoir l’année prochaine lors d’un événement de trois jours remplis d’opportunités dans la belle ville de Montréal. 

Comme chaque édition, le MWC propose un programme riche en contenu comprenant un salon professionnel d’exposition, des conférences sur des sujets clés de l’industrie ainsi que de multiples activités et occasions de réseautage. Le programme détaillé sera annoncé ultérieurement. 

Le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois est l’un des plus importants événements dans l’industrie des produits du bois au Canada, avec une participation habituelle d’environ 1 000 délégués issus d’Amérique du Nord et d’outre-mer. 

Nous espérons vous voir à Montréal l’an prochain ! 

Une année record pour le Congrès !

Montréal, Canada - Le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2023 (MWC), un événement de premier plan pour l'industrie du bois en Amérique du Nord, a eu lieu du 18 au 20 avril 2023 à l'hôtel Reine Elizabeth à Montréal. Le Congrès a attiré près de 1100 participants provenant du monde entier en plus de tenir 110 kiosques présentant les dernières tendances, les technologies et les produits des plus grandes entreprises de l'industrie du bois. Un nombre record de participants pour l’événement.

En plus de l’espace de foire, l’événement a accueilli une série de séminaires et de tables rondes réunissant d'éminents experts du secteur. Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, joueur de la NFL pour les New York Jets, a été sans contredit la vedette de l’événement. Il a charmé les participants par son parcours unique, de l'école de médecine au football professionnel, et a traité de l'importance du leadership, de la persévérance et de la capacité d'adaptation.

Outre le conférencier de marque et le panel des P.-.DG., le MWC a proposé une série d'autres événements et activités, dont des possibilités de réseautage et un séminaire sectoriel sur l'économie et les marchés.

Selon Sven Gustavsson, directeur de l'événement, le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2023 a été une réussite sur toute la ligne et une excellente occasion pour l'industrie du bois de se réunir et de partager des idées, des connaissances et des innovations. « Nous sommes ravis que les gens aient apprécié la gamme diversifiée de séminaires et de possibilités de réseauter lors de la rencontre de cette année », a déclaré monsieur Gustavsson. « La présence des acteurs importants de l’industrie en si grand nombre est une autre preuve de la pertinence et de la nécessité de ce rendez-vous annuel pour l’industrie du bois en Amérique du Nord ainsi que mondialement ».

L'industrie forestière est un acteur majeur de l'économie canadienne, avec une contribution au PIB de près de 20 milliards de dollars (en dollars chaînés de 2012), ce qui représente 8 % du secteur manufacturier canadien. Avec des exportations de plus de 46 milliards de dollars en 2022, le secteur affiche une solide balance commerciale positive (près de 30 milliards de dollars). En ce qui concerne le bois d'œuvre, le Canada reste le 2e plus grand producteur et le 2e plus grand exportateur au monde. L'industrie forestière comptait en 2021 plus de 210 000 emplois directs (forestiers, scientifiques, ingénieurs, informaticiens, techniciens et ouvriers qualifiés) et demeure un pilier du développement économique pour de nombreuses municipalités d'un océan à l'autre. 

« Le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois confirme à nouveau son rôle de plaque tournante canadienne pour les producteurs, les grossistes et les détaillants de produits du bois. Nous sommes heureux de la participation record des États-Unis et du Canada, ainsi que de la présence importante des marchés d'outre-mer », explique Sylvain Labbé, président-directeur général du Bureau de promotion des produits du bois du Québec (QWEB) et membre du comité organisateur de l'événement.

Le Congrès n'a cessé de gagner en popularité depuis sa création, malgré une interruption due à la pandémie mondiale de COVID-19. Chaque année, le programme varié et la qualité des entreprises participantes reflètent les dernières tendances du marché et les nombreux changements dans l'industrie.

L'événement, qui trouve son origine dans le congrès de l'Association canadienne des bûcherons (ACB), tenu pour la première fois en 1908, a été réorganisé et relancé en 2013 par quatre associations industrielles de l'est du Canada, le Maritime Lumber Bureau (MLB), l'Ontario Forest Industry Association (OFIA), le Conseil de l'industrie forestière du Québec (CIFQ) et le Bureau de promotion des produits du bois du Québec (QWEB).

Préparez votre Congrès ! 

Le Congrès de Montréal sur le bois 2023 est dans moins d’une semaine et nous avons très hâte de vous accueillir ! 

Afin que votre déplacement et votre participation au Congrès se déroulent à merveille, voici quelques informations pertinentes :   

Bon voyage vers Montréal !  

Un impressionnant Panel de l’industrie

À chaque édition du Congrès de Montréal sur le bois, nous vous donnons un aperçu des sujets importants de l’année à venir dans l’industrie du bois. Cette année, nous avons réuni une impressionnante équipe de PDG pour animer le Panel de l’industrie pour donner aux participants de l’information fraîche sur les grandes tendances à court et moyen terme du marché des produits du bois.

André Beaulieu, cadre chevronné d’un des principaux producteurs de l’est du Canada, J.D. Irving, sera le modérateur de ce panel. André a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’établissement de l’entreprise en tant que fournisseur important du secteur de la vente au détail et en particulier pour les centres de rénovation aux États-Unis. 

Chez Do It Best, Dan Starr prend le pouls du secteur privé de la réparation et de la rénovation aux États-Unis et au Mexique. Y a-t-il encore des projets de construction dans le Midwest en 2023 ?

En tant que membre du groupe Hampton, Ted Ellis, président d’Idaho Timber, possède de l’expérience dans les opérations et le commerce dans l’Ouest du pays, tout en continuant à se concentrer sur les activités traditionnelles d’Idaho dans le domaine des produits du bois à valeur ajoutée destinés aux clients industriels et d’autres secteurs.

Enfin, Taiga est un important distributeur indépendant de matériaux de construction au Canada et aux États-Unis. Son PDG, Russ Permann, couvre une large gamme de produits allant du bois d’ingénierie aux matériaux de revêtement.

Vous voulez assister à ce panel en direct ? Cliquez sur le bouton « Pour participer » pour vous inscrire à l’événement. Vous pouvez assister à toutes les conférences avec votre inscription au MWC 2023.

Au plaisir de vous voir à Montréal !